Zeigler, Allen in runoff for Secretary of State

1280x960 80508c00 Duwpr

primary election

Outgoing State Auditor Jim Zeigler and state Rep. Wes Allen have advanced to the Republican primary runoff to succeed GOP incumbent John Merrill as Alabama’s secretary of state.

The two were the top vote-getters in a four-way race and will meet again on June 21.

Steve Marshall won the Republican nomination for Alabama attorney general and faces a Democratic challenger in the fall.

Greg Cook won the GOP nomination for Alabama Supreme Court, but there will be a Republican runoff for state auditor.

Voters also approved a constitutional amendment to fund work on state parks and historical sites.

(Copyright 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.)

5/25/2022 1:09:49 AM (GMT -5:00)


The runoff election will take place on June 21, and the winner will face Democrat Pamela Laffitte in the general election on November 8.


Republican Primary – Secretary of State

The Republican candidates running for Alabama Secretary of State

  • Jim Zeigler WinnerR 42.7%
  • Wes Allen WinnerR 39.7%
  • Christian Horn  R 9.8%
  • Ed Packard  R 7.8%
Last updated:

Categories: Elections