With Alabama opening game against Duke less than 40 days away, preseason watchlist season is upon us. Several Alabama players have been announced as candidates for prestigious college football awards.

Crimson Tide quarterback and reigning 2018 Maxwell Award winner Tua Tagovailoa was announced as a candidate to be a repeat winner of the award given to “America’s College Player of the Year.” Tagovailoa enters his junior season after throwing for 3,966 yards and a single-season record 43 touchdowns last year. He’s joined on the Maxwell watch list by junior wide receiver Jerry Jeudy, who received the Biletnikoff award last season after hauling in 68 catches for 1,315 yards. Junior running back Najee Harris also made the watchlist. Harris is in line to star as the featured back in Alabama’s offense after splitting carriers with Damien Harris and Josh Jacobs last season. Harris has 1,153 yards and seven touchdowns in his Alabama career so far.

Alabama and Clemson pace the country in Maxwell Award watch list candidates with three each.

The Crimson Tide also landed two players on the Chuck Bednarik preseason watch list. The Bednarik award is given to the nation’s top defensive players. Inside linebacker Dylan Moses was listed as a candidate as he enters his junior season. Moses led the Crimson Tide with 86 total tackles last season. He’ll be taking over Mike linebacker duties and will be expected to captain the defense this upcoming fall. Defensive lineman Raekwon Davis made the list as well. The senior took a backseat to breakout star Quinnen Williams last year, but will be the veteran leader of Alabama’s defensive line this season. Davis made 55 tackles and 1.5 sacks during the 2018 campaign.

In addition to being named to the Maxwell Award watchlist, Harris was also selected as a preseason candidate for the Doak Walker Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top running back.

Categories: Local News