Northport’s Municipal Election is Tuesday. Here’s Who’s Running

Northport Sales Tax

Northport residents are picking their new leaders Tuesday.

Northport Mayor Donna Aaron, along with Northport City Council members Tony Roberts of District 1 and Robby Davis of District 4 are not running for re-election so their seats are up for grabs.

Districts 2, 3 and 5 are all contested races among their incumbents and newcomers vying for their spots.

Here’s who’s running:


  • Bobby Herndon is a two-time Northport mayor who was unseated by Aaron in 2016. He’s looking to reclaim the position, and he’s the only candidate who has held public office.
  • Dale Phillips served nearly 30 years working in the Tuscaloosa County Sheriff’s Office, and now serves as the deputy state director for Dixie Youth Baseball.
  • Shawn Blackburn works for Northport’s information technology department.

District 1:

  • Christy Bobo is a former city of Tuscaloosa employee who’s responsible for getting the Tuscaloosa River Market up and running, along with marketing efforts for the Tuscaloosa Amphitheater and Public Services department to promote community events. View Bobo’s website here.
  • David Crawford is a 44-year resident of Northport who’s owned Maxx Mailing Service in Northport for the past 25 years.

District 2:

  • Jay Logan is currently president of the Northport City Council and the District 2 incumbent. He’s served as District 2’s city councilman since 2008 and council president since 2012. View Logan’s website here.
  • Woodrow Washington is owner of Archibald’s and Archibald’s and Woodrow BBQ and a retiree of the Tuscaloosa Fire Department.

District 3:

  • John Hinton is the current incumbent after his appointment to the seat vacated by Rep. Rodney Sullivan after he was elected to the Alabama House of Representatives in 2018. Hinton said he successfully recruited several new businesses to his district including Walmart Neighborhood Market and Harbor Freight.
  • Billy Booth is a longtime Northport business owner who says he wants to see the extension of a 5 mil property tax from 1998 to fund education and other city projects like street paving.
  • Franklin Chandler Jr. (no information or website available)

District 4:

  • Ken Randolph is running on a platform that Northport needs “Forward thinking progress.”
  • Jamie Dykes is a lifelong resident of Tuscaloosa County who’s spent the last 15 years in Northport and is a University of Alabama employee. She says her goal is representing her district with honesty and integrity. View Dykes’ website here.
  • Michael Daugherty says his focus is on improving Northport’s schools by communicating with the Tuscaloosa County School Board, administration, teachers and parents.

District 5:

  • Jeff Hogg is the District 5 incumbent who’s been serving since 2016. He’s been encouraging the construction of a water park in Northport to give families a place for summer fun without leaving town. View Hogg’s website here.
  • Randy Fondren says his priority is job creation and working with businesses around Northport.

Polls will be open in each council district from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Polling locations are:

  • District 1: Northport Civic Center, 3500 McFarland Blvd.
  • District 2: New Zion Missionary Baptist Church, 1317 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
  • District 3: Indian Lake Baptist Church, 3815 Watermelon Road
  • District 4: Northport Public Safety Facility Building, 3721 26th Ave.
  • District 5: Flatwoods Baptist Church, 4520 70th Ave.

View more information about the election here.

Categories: Archives, Elections, Local News