alabama map

Gov. Robert Bentley today signed a no-burn order affecting 46 counties in north and central Alabama.

The Drought Emergency Declaration comes as extremely dry conditions plague much of the state.

“The current drought condition in our state is posing a serious threat for wildfires,” Bentley said in a news release. “The continued lack of rain combined with low relative humidity and strong winds are putting several counties at a very high risk. This declaration is meant to prevent unnecessary burning, reducing the chance of avoidable fires.”

The order affects the following counties: Autauga, Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, Dallas, DeKalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Lowndes, Macon, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Montgomery, Morgan, Perry, Pickens, Randolph, Russell, Shelby, St. Clair, Sumter, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker and Winston.

Additionally, the Alabama Forestry Commission has issued a fire alert for the remaining counties in south Alabama, effective immediately.

During the past seven days, 341 wildfires have burned more than 4,100 acres in Alabama, according to Alabama Forestry Commission fire officials.

The order remains in effect until rescinded by the State Forester. To report anyone burning in violation of the law, contact your local law enforcement. For more information on the current wildfire situation in the state, visit the Alabama Forestry Commission’s website at

Categories: Archives, Local News