3 more Alabama counties eligible for FEMA aid for storms

Mgn 1280x960 70906c00 Hqljk
FEMA, disaster assistance

The Associated Press

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) – More Alabama counties are now eligible for federal help after last week’s storms and tornadoes. Emergency Management Agency Director Ernie Baggott said Federal Emergency Management Agency assistance in the designated disaster area will be extended beyond Autauga and Dallas counties to include Elmore, Coosa and Hale.

FEMA, in a news release, said residents in those five counties can now apply for FEMA Individual Assistance, which could include temporary housing help, basic home repairs and some uninsured disaster-related needs.

The Jan. 12 storms killed six people and left a trail of destruction in its wake.

Read the full story on AP News right here.

(Copyright 2023 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.)

1/21/2023 3:43:42 PM (GMT -6:00)

Read the full news release below:

News Release

Coosa, Elmore and Hale Counties Eligible for FEMA Assistance

ATLANTA – Coosa, Elmore and Hale counties are now eligible for FEMA assistance after the Jan. 12 storms and tornadoes in Alabama.

Individuals and households in Coosa, Elmore and Hale counties can apply for FEMA Individual Assistance, which may include temporary housing assistance, basic home repairs and certain other uninsured disaster-related needs.

These counties join Autauga and Dallas counties, which were previously approved for Individual Assistance.

Survivors can apply for disaster assistance at disasterassistance.gov, by using the FEMA mobile app, or by calling 800-621-3362. The helpline is open, and help is available from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. Central Time in most languages. If you use a relay service such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service.

For information on Alabama’s disaster recovery, visit fema.gov/disaster/4684. Follow FEMA on Twitter at FEMA Region 4 (@femaregion4) / Twitter and at facebook.com/fema.


FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.

All FEMA disaster assistance will be provided without discrimination on the grounds of race, color, sex (including sexual harassment), sexual orientation, religion, national origin, age, disability, limited English proficiency, economic status. If you believe your civil rights are being violated, you can call the Civil Rights Resource line at 833-285-7448.

Categories: Alabama News, Local News